Pennies From Heaven

The other night I went with a friend to go see the movie “The Artist.”  It is a silent, black and white film that was brilliant!  We loved it, both for the storyline and the actual way in which it was shot.  Another great thing about it was the soundtrack.  There was one song in particular that I loved, mainly because it reminded me of my mom.

As far as my life goes, I have been very busy working on all things school related.  The cool thing about being an art student is, the lectures you can attend for extra credit are actually very interesting and give you quick break from your studio work.

Last night I went to a talk by a visiting artist named Frank Tomaselli.  Originally from Santa Monica, California, the themes of his works span from drugs, to punk rock all the way to nature.  The materials that he uses are just as eclectic as his subject matter.

Fred Tomaselli (American, b. 1956). Echo, Wow, and Flutter, 2000. Leaves, pills, photocollage, acrylic, and resin on wood panel, 84 x 120 in. (213.4 x 304.8 cm). Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, New York. James G. Forsyth Fund

FRED TOMASELLI Guilty, 2005 Print 13 X 13 inches Edition of 100

Fred Tomaselli Octillo Nocturnal ” 1993 Synthetic polymer, resin, pills and plant leaves.

What I enjoyed most about his presentation was his demeanor.  The way in which  he explained his work seemed so real.  I got the sense that his history of drug use affected him, but it made him that much more human.  He seemed chaotic yet at the same time very focused and driven.

Tonight I went to another great talk and that was the Pow Wow Hawai’i discussion.  Pow Wow is a community event that gathered over 40 artists from around the world and brought them to Hawaii to create art.  They got permission to paint multiple locations throughout the Kakaako area and will be doing so all week.  As far as the discussion went, it was great.  The artists that spoke were very humble and it was interesting to hear them talk about their work and how they got to where they are.

Lastly, here are a few things I  have been working on in my studio. . . .

melting wax.

sprued and ready to invest.

wax invested and ready to go into the kiln.

cast in bronze, not 100% done though

random project

The beginning of my BFA project. . . . it's going to be a long road!

Enjoy the weekend!

3 responses to “Pennies From Heaven

  1. Speaking of pennies from heaven, I found 2 on valentines day! Double the love I suppose.

  2. P.S. A long road but well worth it , Its opened up your mind and soul to alot of amazing types of art from all over the world!! That in itself is worth it.

  3. I love it!!!!! Have a wonderful day!!!!

Leave a Reply

